You can disable Find My iPhone. Here's How and When to Do It

I’m not criticizing if you misplace your Apple device regularly. Apple isn’t much better. Your iPhone has a handy function called Find My Network that allows you to locate your phone if it goes misplaced. The Find My function also allows you to keep track of other devices both inside and outside of the Apple ecosystem, making it a useful present for those of us who have a few too many stuff to keep track of.

However, there are particular circumstances in which you should disable Find My iPhone. The most typical instance is when you’re selling, trading in, or otherwise saying goodbye to your iPhone, which you may do if you’ve recently purchased a new phone. This removes the phone from the list of devices linked to your account and prevents future owners from accessing information about you.

According to Apple’s support website, you should also disable the function if you need to send your iPhone in for service.

Fortunately, Apple makes it simple to disable Find My iPhone. The procedures differ based on the operating system, but you only need a few to turn the switch. Here’s what you should know.

How can I disable Find My iPhone? (IOS 13 or later)

  1. Select the Settings option from the drop-down menu.
  2. Go to the top of the menu and select your name. Then choose “Find My” from the drop-down menu.
  3. Tap the top of the following screen to deactivate the Find My iPhone feature. You may also disable the Find My Network and Send Last Location options.
  4. Enter your Apple ID’s password. Select Turn Off from the drop-down menu.

How can I disable Find My iPhone? (on iOS 12 or earlier)

  1. Select the Settings option from the drop-down menu.
  2. At the top of the menu, tap your name.
  3. Choose iCloud as your backup option and enter your password.
  4. Select Turn Off to deactivate. Please track down my iPhone.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.