Deleting Facebook? Follow These Steps Carefully

You might want to deactivate your Facebook account for several reasons and may have seen that utilizing social media negatively impacts your mental health. Maybe you are against the website because of allegations of privacy abuses, political arguments, polarising falsehoods, and other content that might be harmful to children. You can also be seeking to remove all of your online personas. In any event, we’ll show you how to Permanently Delete your Facebook account.

Understanding the difference between deleting and deactivating your Facebook account is essential. Your Facebook account is immediately frozen after you deactivate it, which is useful if you want to take a break. However, this does not prevent the corporation from tracking your internet behavior.

The only way to completely disconnect from Facebook is to delete your account. By deleting it, you also cut links with Facebook Messenger, the platform’s chat program. (If you want to remove Instagram and WhatsApp, both of which are owned by Facebook, you must do it individually.) We’ll go through some things you should think about before starting the procedure, which takes time and patience.

  1. Uninstall the Facebook app from your smartphone and tablet

To begin, remove the app from your smartphone or tablet. Remember that removing the Facebook app does not remove your account; you may still access it through the web, and other applications may still utilize Facebook as a login.

Removing the symbol from your phone removes it from sight and mind, but it does not affect your total account. You must complete all of these additional steps or Facebook will continue to track your internet activities.

  1. Select an alternate messaging or social media platform

Remember that when you remove your Facebook account, you lose access to Messenger. That is, if you often communicate with individuals on Messenger, you will need to inform them of your plans and find another app or messaging service to utilize to keep in touch.

Apply the same logic to your Facebook friends in general. Post a status a few days before you intend to delete your account, and request that anyone who wants to stay in touch send you a message with their contact information.

You may also upload your images, videos, notes, and posts from Facebook to other sites such as Google Photos and Dropbox. Here’s how to move your Facebook info.

  1. Disable your Facebook account from all other applications and logins

You may register for and log in to third-party services like Spotify and DoorDash using your Facebook account. It’s wonderful to have fewer passwords to remember. Unless you want your Facebook account deleted.

You must check-in and disconnect from any third-party accounts that access your Facebook data.

Go to: to get a list of the applications connected to your Facebook account.

  • Log on to Facebook.
  • Click Settings > Apps and Websites.
  • Contact the company’s support staff if you require assistance or have concerns about how to delink your Facebook account from the service.

After that, take these steps to obtain and get a copy of all your Facebook data:

  • Open Facebook on your PC.
  • Navigate to Settings > Facebook Information.
  • Select Download Your Information and then click View.
  • Check all of the boxes in the Your Information section.
  • Keep the date range set to All of my data.
  • Leave the format at HTML to provide your facts in an easy-to-navigate way.
  • To save high-resolution copies of Facebook photographs and videos, adjust the Media Quality drop-down menu from Medium to High.

Finally, click the Create File button. Facebook will then collect all of your information and notify you through email when it is available for download. This might take some time; it is not an immediate operation.

  1. When you’re finished, delete your Facebook account.

As the final step, you must delete your account. To do so, go to this website and sign in.

Before you deactivate your account, Facebook will give you a list of obligations and things to consider. For example, you may be requested to download all of your data or, if you are the only administrator of a Facebook Page, to provide admin access to another user. Otherwise, your account and the page will be deleted.

Okay, are you ready? Enter your username and password, and then click the Delete Account button. Then, just click Delete Account one more to finish.

  1. You have 30 days to reconsider your decision about Facebook.

Facebook will destroy all of your account data from its servers within 90 days. You can still login in and rescind your deletion request for the first 30 days of that time. Your account will be reinstated as if you had never left. Whatever the case may be.

To cancel your deletion request, go to Facebook.com, sign in, and click the Cancel Deletion option.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.